Continuing in our series of articles analyzing the ATV laws in every state, which stemmed from this article, we are addressing the ATV laws in Florida in this article. It should also be noted that, while I am an attorney, I am not your attorney and am not giving legal advice. If you have questions, you should consult a local attorney.
How does Florida Define an ATV?
Florida defines an ATV as any motorized off-highway vehicle, that is 50 inches or less in width and under 1,200 pounds in dry weight, that travels on three or more tires and is designed for use by a single operator and no passenger. They also reference a two-rider ATV, which is an ATV specifically designed by the manufacturer to carry a passenger.
Florida refers to a UTV as a recreational off-highway vehicle or ROV. It defines an ROV as a motorized recreational off-highway vehicle under 60 inches (check out these dimensions because lots of UTVs are wider than 60 inches) in width that travels on four or more non-highway tires, and has non-straddle seating and a steering wheel.
Are you Required to Title and Register your ATV or UTV in Florida?
Any ATV or UTV owned by a resident of Florida must be titled. Likewise, an assignment of title must be delivered with any sale of an ATV or UTV. An application for change of title must be filed by the purchaser of an ATV or UTV within 30 days of purchase.
You can obtain a title by filing an application with your county tax collector. Your application must include the true name of the owner, the residence or business address of the owner, and a complete description of the off-highway vehicle. You must sign the application and pay the fee of $29.
To obtain the title, you must be able to establish proof of ownership by submitting with the application an executed bill of sale, a manufacturer’s statement of origin, or any other document acceptable to the department.
With your title, you will receive a validation sticker to be placed on your ATV or UTV as proof of the issuance of title.
Note, while you are required to title your ATV or UTV in Florida, you are not required to register or insure it.
Where are you Permitted to Operate an ATV or UTV in Florida?
In Florida, an ATV may be operated on an unpaved public roadway, with a posted speed limit less than 35 m.p.h., during the day. This provision does not apply to UTVs unless authorized by the local authority. You are not permitted to operate an ATV or UTV on any other public road, street or highway.
Youth ATV and UTV Regulations in Florida
- Any person under 16 years of age operating, riding, or otherwise being propelled on an an ATV or UTV must wear a safety helmet meeting United States Department of Transportation standards and eye
protection. Getting a good helmet and goggles is important for any new rider. We have researched and tested a ton and believe these to be the best quality for the value ones out there.
- Any person under the age of 16 years of age must wear an over the ankle boot while operating an ATV in Florida. There are many different kinds of boots that will satisfy this requirement and we share our favorites in these recommendations.
- Any person under 16 years of age must be supervised by an adult during operation of an ATV or UTV.
- Any person under 16 years of age who is operating an ATV or UTV in Florida must have in his or her possession a certificate evidencing the satisfactory completion of an approved OHV safety course, unless that person is a non-resident in Florida temporarily for a period not to exceed 30 days.
What to do if you are in an ATV or UTV Accident in Florida
If you are involved in an ATV or UTV crash that results in the death of any person or in the injury of any person which results in treatment of the
person by a physician, the operator of each all-terrain vehicle involved in the crash shall give notice of the crash to a law enforcement officer.
Other ATV and UTV Regulations in Florida
- It is unlawful to damage any public lands while operating an ATV or UTV. This shall include the damaging of any of trees, flora, sand dunes or other environmentally sensitive land, roads, trails, drainage systems or natural water courses or sources, wildlife resources, fences or gates, or crops or cultivated land.
- It is unlawful to carry a passenger on an ATV unless it is designed by the manufacturer to carry said passenger.
- It is unlawful to operate an ATV or UTV under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
- It is unlawful to operate an ATV or UTV in a careless or reckless manner that endangers or causes injury or damage to another person or property.